Street beat

I often tend to think I’m the only strange person around, then I realize there are many a weirdo out there thinking just the same. One of my biggest pleasures in life is to walk around town with big headphones blasting good old rock n roll in my ears and… dancing. Yes, in the middle of the street, on the pavement, on the stairs, twirling around lampposts and skipping over puddles like Astaire and the gang in Singing in the rain. I love music and I always feel the richest when I’m comfortably surrounded by a good beat and well-written lyrics, and when I feel good I get the uncontrollable urge to dance, or bust a move or whatever you want to call it. I’ve always loved the quirky aspects of my personality that often make me odd to others, I enjoy the simplest yet most undervalued things in life no matter how bizarre I can come across to those who don’t know me – maybe even to those who do.

Life in this century can be pretty dull at times, especially when walking down some avenue lined with buildings devoid of character and emotion, people rushing by, faces toward the ground maybe counting steps or forgetting the world altogether. However, once music is added, things suddenly burst with colour, as ears magically experience a sensorial orgasm. I have a feeling I’m not the only one who, when some tone-deaf driver passes by with his car’s stereo on high, feels like some model marching down a runway to the beat of whatever the stranger is playing. For a few seconds, the world around seems transformed and I can’t help myself from smiling. Music is such a happy possession, and even if it may sometimes look odd to dance as I walk down lonely streets, there’s a pleasure in sharing with the wind, walls and rushing cars the short peace of mind and freedom a simple melody brings me.

Leave a Reply

